

Qld Branch President's Report, AAIMH National AGM

20 November 2018

Provided by Elisabeth Hoehn, Queensland Branch President.

2018 has been a challenging year for the Queensland committee with members experiencing significant personal issues that have impacted the capacity of the committee to engage in regular activities for our membership. This is on the back of several years now that the committee has had limited numbers of members and has struggled with survival. Despite this, the committee has been able to deliver professional development opportunities and maintain our membership number. The current membership of AAIMHIQ is 38 members across Queensland.

National AAIMHI organised a National Speaker Tour for 2018 Child Protection Week, and Queensland participated in this tour by organising a training event with Nancy Suchman. This event was successful and provided members with valuable professional development as well as contributing income to AAIMHIQ. This event has assisted AAIMHQ to maintain a healthy financial position.

AAIMHIQ has continued to provide active participation to the National AAIMHI committee. Libby Morton has been the National President, Elisabeth Hoehn has been the Queensland representative and National Vice-President. AAIMHIQ has again played a significant role in nationally organising and promoting Infant Mental Health Awareness Week for the second year.

Preparations have continued for hosting the WAIMH international congress in Brisbane in 2020. A theme, dates and a venue have been confirmed, and ICMSA has been appointed as the Professional Conference Organiser. The Congress will be held at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre from 7-11 June, 2020, with a theme of *Creating stories in infant mental health: research, recovery and regeneration.*

AAIMHQ held the Queensland AGM on 5th November with a seminar highlighting research. The event was well attended and a new committee was formed. This new committee is looking forward to taking AAIMHQ forward with renewed enthusiasm.

The new AAIMHQ Committee is:

- Joe Coyne (President & National AAIMH Committee representative)
- o Elisabeth Hoehn (Vice-president)
- o Deborah Henry (Co-secretary)
- Janelle Lusty (Co-secretary)
- Suzie Lewis (Treasurer)
- Sarah Harwood (Infant Mental Health Awareness Week Working Group Rep)
- Michelle Fryer
- Susan Wilson
- Ewa Bodnar
- o Anita Nepean-Hutchison

Australian Association for Infant Mental Health Limited

126A Payneham Road Stepney SA 5069 Australia | ABN 88 625 753 522 | ACN 625 753 522 info@aaimhi.org | www.aaimhi.org

