

Ann Morgan Prize for Creative Writing 2025

AAIMH Vic is delighted to offer the 16th Ann Morgan Prize in 2025. Dr Ann Morgan was a wise and curious thinker, with a fine intellect and a passion for good writing. In honour of her contribution to Infant Mental Health, AAIMH Victoria invites submissions for the 2025 Ann Morgan Prize of \$750.



Entry fee \$15 3000 words, maximum Submissions due by Friday, 25th July, 2025.

The judges are looking for a piece of creative writing, in any form, that considers the emotional relationship between a Baby, or Very Young Child, and an Other (e.g. Mother, Father, Family Member, or Professional).

The Ann Morgan Prize Committee encourages AAIMH members and non-members to put pen to paper for the 2025 Ann Morgan Prize. For information about previous winners see <u>AAIMH - Ann Morgan Prize</u> <u>Winning Entries</u>

How to enter the Ann Morgan Prize 2025

https://www.trybooking.com/DCICE

- Please read the **Terms and Conditions** carefully.
- Submit your entry to ann.morgan.prize@gmail.com by 5pm on Friday, 25th July, 2025.
- Write Ann Morgan Prize 2025 in the subject line.
- In the body of your email please include:
 - your name
 - your phone number
 - your email address
 - the title of your entry
 - proof of payment
- The entry should be in the form of a Word document attached to the email. As the judging is 'blind', please do not put your name on the file in this attachment.
- You will receive email confirmation that your entry has been received. After judging, only short-listed writers will be notified.
- The winner of the prize will be announced 16 August 2025, and subsequently on the AAIMH website



About the judges for the AM Prize 2025

<u>Joanna Murray-Smith</u> is one of Australia's most produced playwrights. Her plays have been produced all over the world and in many languages. She is also a novelist, librettist, and screenwriter.

Jennifer Harrison, a child psychiatrist specialised in neurodevelopmental conditions, has published eight poetry collections, most recently Anywhy (Black Pepper 2018). She founded, and now manages the Dax Poetry Collection housed at the Dax Centre, University of Melbourne. She is currently Chair of the World Psychiatry Association's Section for Art and Psychiatry and in 2012 was awarded the Christopher Brennan Award for sustained contribution to Australian poetry.

<u>Campbell Paul</u> is a Consultant Infant and Child Psychiatrist at the Royal Children's Hospital in Melbourne and Honorary Principal Fellow in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Melbourne. He is the past President of the World Association for Infant Mental Health (WAIMH).

<u>Christine Hill</u> is a Melbourne writer, now retired from her role as midwife and perinatal psychotherapist. Her poetry and non-fiction have been published in various journals and her play performed at La Mama theatre in Carlton.

Terms and conditions of entry for the Ann Morgan Prize 2025

- 1. Entrants must be aged 18 years or over, Australian residents, and/or WAIMH members at time of submission.
- 2. All works must be in English, typed in 12-point sized plain font (Time New Roman, Arial or Calibri), and 1.5 spaced. Pages must be numbered.
- 3. Entries must be original work and the entrant's own work.
- 4. Entries must not have won a previous award or competition.
- 5. Entries must be unpublished at the time of submission and remain unpublished until after the winner is announced. Publication includes in print or any type of online publication.
- 6. Entries are submitted unencumbered/unrestricted, with full first publication rights available to the Australian Association for Infant Mental Health. Copyright remains with the author. Submissions under consideration by another competition or publication or work that has been previously published or awarded will not be accepted.
- 7. By entering this competition, writers grant AAIMH free-licence to publish their winning and highly commended work on the AAIMH website and in the WAIMH open-access publications, Perspectives. Intellectual Property shall remain with the individual author.
- 8. The author's name, biography, and image may be used in promoting the Ann Morgan Prize.
- 8. Entries must be no more than 3,000 words.
- 9. The name of the author must not appear anywhere on the entry.
- 10. Entries will be judged completely anonymously.
- 11. Entries must be non-defamatory and must not infringe people's privacy or intellectual property.
- 12. The judges' decision will be final. No correspondence will be entered into.
- 13. Entries must be submitted by the deadline. Late entries will not be accepted.
- 14. The winner in each category will receive AU\$750. If the judges decide that two entries are of equal merit, the prize money will be shared equally between the two winners.
- 15. The winning author/s will be invited to read their work at the prize-giving ceremony. Highly Commended authors may also be invited to read their work.
- 16. Winning and Highly Commended entries will be published on the AAIMH website